Texas Medical Center


John Scott Arnoldy has been appointed chair of St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital’s board of directors. Arnoldy is chairman, president and CEO of Triten Corp., a $350 million worldwide engineering and manufacturing firm based in Houston. He is active in community service and has chaired the Houston Metropolitan YMCA, Houston Grand Opera and other local organizations.

Galit Holzmann-Pazgal, M.D., a pediatric infectious disease specialist, has been named Physician of the Year at Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital. To be selected Physician of the Year, a doctor may be nominated by employees, administration or fellow practitioners and must demonstrate courtesy, respect, responsiveness, and professionalism. Holzmann-Pazgal also is a clinical assistant professor of pediatrics at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston.

Raymond Kaufman, M.D., an obstetrician/gynecologist at The Methodist Hospital, will receive the American Society of Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology’s Lifetime Achievement Award at the society’s Biennial 2010 Welcome Reception March 24 in Las Vegas. Kaufman is being honored for his groundbreaking contributions to the field of lower genital tract disease.

Stuart Dryer, Ph.D., professor of biology and biochemistry and biology department chair at the University of Houston, and Metin Akay, Ph.D., professor and founding chair of UH’s new department of biomedical engineering, have been inducted as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The association, which publishes the journal Science, is the world’s largest general scientific society and each year honors those who have made distinguished contributions to the advancement of science. Both were recognized Feb. 20 at the association’s annual meeting in San Diego - Dryer for his research on ion channels – a type of protein found in cell membranes, and Akay for his work in informatics and neural engineering. In addition, Akay was inducted into the College of Fellows of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering at the institute’s annual meeting Feb. 22 in Washington, D.C.

Margery Thompson-Watt, D.S.N.,has been named chief nursing officer for Harris County Hospital District’s Ambulatory Care Services. A registered nurse clinician with more than 30 years’ nursing experience, Thompson-Watt began her career at the hospital district in 1969 as a vocational staff nurse in Ben Taub’s pediatric unit. She has since served in a number of nursing leadership positions, including interim chief nursing officer and director of nursing for the hospital district’s community health centers.

Kathleen Pace-Murphy, Ph.D., professor at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston School of Nursing, has been appointed the Suzie Conway Endowed Professor. The professorship focuses on chronic illness in the elderly. Pace-Murphy is a geriatric/adult nurse practitioner. Prior to joining UT’s nursing school, Pace-Murphy was executive national director for neuroscience and U.S. medical and drug regulatory affairs at Novartis Pharmaceuticals. The Conway Endowed Professorship is named in honor of Suzie Conway, a registered nurse and former board chair of PARTNERS, the nursing school’s community support organization.

James Levermann has been appointed CEO of St. Luke’s Sugar Land Hospital and vice president of St. Luke’s Episcopal Health System. Levermann is a certified public accountant and most recently was chief financial officer for Methodist Willowbrook Hospital. Prior to that, he served in several senior management positions at Texas Children’s Hospital, including president of Texas Children’s International and vice president of Texas Children’s Ambulatory Services.

Ellen Gritz, Ph.D., the Olla S. Stribling Distinguished Chair for Cancer Research at The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, has been selected as this year’s recipient of the Distinguished Professional Woman Award, presented by The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston’s Committee on the Status of Women. The award was established in 1984 to honor professional women who demonstrate a pioneering spirit, serve as mentors and role models for women, and make significant contributions to overall health, quality of life and public service. Gritz is widely known for her research on cigarette smoking and nicotine addiction as well as her expertise in skin cancer prevention, the psychosocial aspects of genetic testing and counseling for hereditary cancers, and quality of life issues affecting cancer patients, survivors and caregivers. She holds memberships in a number of professional and honorary societies, including the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas. Gritz will be honored during a reception March 25 at the Fayez S. Sarofim Research Building.